Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

Bay Oval
New Zealand
Mount Maunganui

About Bay Oval :-


Bay Oval (also known as Blake Park) is a cricket ground in Mount Maunganui, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand.

First known as Blake Park, it held its first List A match in 1987/88 Shell Cup when Northern Districts played Central Districts. During the 1980s and 90s, large holiday crowds flocked to the ground to watch one-day matches, with the ground playing host to a total of 26 List A matches between 1987/88 and 2001/02 seasons. Northern Districts Women played two matches there in the 2004/05 State League.

The Bay of Plenty Cricket Association later constructed a new cricket oval at Blake Park, the Bay Oval, which held its first major match in the 2008–09 State Twenty20 with Northern Districts playing Otago. A further Twenty20 match was held there during that competition, while the following season three matches in that format were played in the 2009–10 HRV Cup, while two were held in the 2010–11 HRV Cup.

Four Twenty20 matches were held there in the 2011–12 HRV Cup, along with two 2011-12 Ford Trophy matches. Northern Districts Women are scheduled to play a match there in December 2011 in the Action Cricket Cup. The Bay Oval is also permitted to host first-class cricket.

Bay Oval hosted its first ODI on January 28, 2014 between Canada and Netherlands as part of the 2014 Cricket World Cup Qualifier.

In June 2014, New Zealand Cricket released that the ground will host first two ODIs of the home series against South Africa in October 2014.


Location Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Time Zone UTC +13:00

Address : Blake Park Kawaka St, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand

Capacity : 10,000

Phone : +64 7-575 9120

Estd : 2007 


New Zealand vs India 2nd ODI Match Prediction

Member for

5 years 3 months

Recent Stories by
Full Name

NZ vs IND Head to Head

New Zealand and India have now played 97 one-day internationals against each other with the latter leading the scoreline 52-44. One of those encounters has produced a tie.

India has now won four of the last five one-day internationals they have played against New Zealand, including the most recently played three.

In the first match of the ongoing series, India shot out New Zealand for 157 in 38 overs before knocking off their target inside 35 overs to seal a comfortable eight-wicket victory.

New Zealand has never faced India in a fifty-over contest at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui.

Matches Played: 97; New Zealand Won: 44; India Won: 52; Tie: 1


With temperatures hoving around 20 degrees throughout the day and negligible chances of rain, it's going to be a perfect day to play. The surface at Mt Maunganui is better suited for spin bowling which is helped the relatively larger boundaries. The last ODI played here more than six hundred runs in total and we can expect yet another run-feast for the batsmen. Considering the batting fire-power available at disposal for both the sides, the team batting first will be looking to put at least 320 runs on the board.

New Zealand Predicted Playing 11

Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (wk), Henry Nicholls/Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Doug Bracewell, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

India Predicted Playing 11

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Vijay Shankar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal

The Kiwi bowlers didn't really look threatening in the opening game of the series
India team is in good confidence on winning
Indian batting lineup looks solid with a settled top-four along with MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav doing well in the middle-order